Hello, Stranger!

I’ve been so busy writing and teaching for LitReactor.com, I have completely neglected my own blog.  Contrary to appearances, I have been busy! I have contributed over 40 articles to LitReactor and even started teaching an online grammar class.

My articles on Grammar, Usage, Vocabulary, Craft, and few other random topics can be found on the site.  My most popular article to date is 10 Words You Literally Didn’t Know You Were Getting Wrong.

I also sponsor a monthly Flash Fiction contest on the site.  The winner of the July contest gets a copy of Chuck Palahniuk‘s new book–which isn’t coming out until October! You have until the 30th to enter, so get on it. Entries have a 25-word limit, so it’s easy to enter.

If you don’t win this month (of if you don’t enter this time), there is a new contest at the beginning of each month, so check back often.

I also teach a semi-regular Basic Grammar class for LitReactor. We just completed the last session in June, but another session is in the works. I’ll let you know. The class covers basic parts of speech, sentence structure, punctuation, usage, and the differences between style guides. It’s a fast and furious two-week intensive, but it’s cheap and it’s all online. So you can log in from anywhere anytime and be wearing anything (or nothing…I’ll never know!)

Other than that, I’ve been working like crazy. I now work as a technical writer and instructional designer for a Portland engineering firm. It’s very challenging work, and it’s given me a lot of great experience writing for the high-tech and business world. I find that even though the subject is not my area of expertise, the basics of good writing still hold true. It’s good practice–that’s for sure.

I’ve noticed I’ve gained a few new followers in the past few months. I apologize for my lack of content, but please do go check out my articles on LitReactor.com. It’s a great site, and I am proud to be a part of it.

Thanks for reading!

About Taylor

Teacher/Writer/Word Nerd View all posts by Taylor

Leave a comment